ABOUT US

Mission

The Scalabrini Center's mission is to help the immigrants and refugees of Montreal to adapt, settle and integrate into society. This mission is based upon humane values, cooperation and the mutual respect of the person.

Vision

Our Vision is to become a leader in the area of immigrant reception. This vision includes being a Center which responds in a real and tangible way to the true needs of immigrants, helping them to integrate socially, educationally and become productive in our society. We also desire to use this leadership to facilitate understanding and dialogue, while we approach the members of all cultures and communities in society.

Objectives

  • Support and encourage asylum seekers to take charge of their own immigration process in order to obtain refugee status or to become permanent residents.
  • Provide immigrants and accepted refugees all the resources they need to enter the work force, through workshops.
  • Develop helpful programs for immigrants and accepted refugees in the areas of lodging, education, healthcare, etc.
  • Encourage learning and the promotion of the French language and of career training for newcomers.
  • Create an ambience of social and cultural sharing to assist newcomers in dealing with all the problems of integration and immigration they may encounter.

Principles, Values and Ethics

We are inspired in the principles of love and helping the needy. We consider that it is of vital importance to respect the fundamental rights of the immigrant and refugee.

History

The Scalabrini Center was born from the deep desires of the parishioners of the Hispanic, African and Haitian cultures at the Church of Notre Dame de Pompei (St Michel-Sauvé). These parishioners were immigrants to Canada, who sought help for their problems regarding the immigration process.

The founders of the center knew they were helpless and despaired [of forming the center] at which point the priest, who had little knowledge of the subject, responded to meet the needs of immigrants. So in early 2000, the parishioners were granted access to a small office, where the current director Mr. Miguel Arévalo, worked as a volunteer, twice a week.

Despite the inconveniences and during little time the director had, the center's needs grew so that it had to open a larger and more independent office. To this end, the Scalabrini Missionaries purchased the Santa Rita church so that the rectory, the basement and the parish hall could be occupied by the Scalabrini Center for Refugees and Immigrants being administered by the Board with Miguel Arévalo as General Manager.

A year later, the shelter opened its doors. The four rooms available were used to accommodate poor immigrants and give them support in their integration into Quebec society. Because of the small number of rooms, the center had decided to initially provide living quarters for single men and then later offer this same service to women in 2004. Currently, the Scalabrini Centre has ten rooms.

À PROPOS DE NOUS

Mission

La mission du Centre Scalabrini pour réfugiés et immigrants est d'aider les immigrants et réfugiés de la région de Montréal à s'adapter, s'installer et s'intégrer dans la société d'accueil. Cette mission est basée sur la valeur humaine, la coopération et le respect mutuel de la personne.

Vision

Notre vision est de devenir un chef de file dans le domaine de l'accueil migratoire. Nous répondons aux besoins des immigrants d'une manière réelle et tangible en aidant ces derniers à s'intégrer au système éducatif, social et productif de la société d'accueil. Nous utilisons également ce leadership dans la promotion, la compréhension, le dialogue et le rapprochement des membres des communautés culturelles et de la société d'accueil

Objectifs

  • Fournir aux immigrants et aux réfugiés acceptés des programmes de formation et les compétences nécessaires à leur insertion au marché du travail.
  • Développer des programmes d'aide (logement, éducation, santé, etc.) pour les immigrants et les réfugiés acceptés.
  • Soutenir et encourager les demandeurs d'asile à se prendre en charge dans leur processus migratoire pour obtenir leur statut de réfugié et/ou de résident permanent.
  • Encourager l'éducation et la promotion de la langue française et des carrières de formation professionnelle pour les nouveaux arrivants.
  • Créer un milieu de vie de partage social et culturel et le vivre au quotidien dans les relations d'aide aux nouveaux arrivants en les assistant dans certaines de leurs démarches migratoires et d'intégration.

Principes, valeurs et éthique

Nous sommes inspirés par les principes de l'amour et de l'aide aux nécessiteux. Nous considérons que le respect des droits fondamentaux des réfugiés et des immigrants est nécessaire.

Histoire

Le Centre Scalabrini pour réfugiés et immigrants est né des besoins que ressentaient les paroissiens hispaniques, haïtiens et africains de l'église Notre-Dame-de-Pompéi (St-Michel-Sauvé). Ces paroissiens étaient des immigrants qui demandaient de l'aide en regard des problèmes relatifs à leurs processus migratoires.

Les fondateurs du centre voyaient avec impuissance et désolation à quel point le prêtre, qui n'avait guère de connaissances du sujet, peinait à répondre aux besoins des immigrants. Ainsi au début de l'année 2000, la paroisse a eu accès à un petit bureau où le directeur actuel, Monsieur Miguel Arévalo, y travaillait alors comme bénévole deux fois par semaine.

Malgré les incommodités et le peu de temps destiné à la personne en charge, le besoin a grandi de telle façon qu'il a fallu ouvrir un bureau plus grand et indépendant. Pour ce faire, les Missionnaires scalabriniens ont acheté l'église Sainte-Rita afin que le presbytère, le sous-sol et la salle paroissiale puissent être occupés par le Centre Scalabrini pour réfugiés et immigrants, administré par le conseil d'administration et Miguel Arévalo, le directeur général.

Un an plus tard, le centre d'hébergement a ouvert ses portes. Les quatre chambres disponibles servaient ainsi à accueillir les immigrants les plus démunis et à les accompagner dans leur parcours d'intégration au sein de la société québécoise. À cause du nombre restreint de chambres, le centre a initialement décidé d'offrir le service d'hébergement uniquement aux hommes seuls pour ensuite offrir ce même service aux femmes en 2004. Présentement, le Centre Scalabrini pour réfugiés et immigrants compte dix chambres.